Google admits of tracking users even with location data disabled!

Google has confirmed that certain Google apps track users' whereabouts even when the feature is turned off/disabled. The tech giant clarifies that in order to "improve Google experience", it does track the location data. The Help Page however informed that if you turn off Location History at any time, the places you go are no longer stored.

Google page says, "Location History is a Google product that is entirely opt in, and users have the controls to edit, delete or turn it off at any time." It has admitted that the that location data is being tracked by some Google apps.

The Associated Press has earlier published that that many Google services on Android devices and iPhones store users' location data although users explicitly used a privacy setting to forbid it. "As the (AP) story notes, we make sure Location History users know that when they disable the product, we continue to use location to improve the Google experience when they do things like perform a Google search or use Google for driving directions."

However, turning off Location History may not solve the purpose, but for doing the trick you can pause "Web and App Activity" in Google Settings. "Even when this setting is paused, Google may temporarily use information from recent searches in order to improve the quality of the active search session," reads Google's Activity Control page

No comments:

Post a Comment

Recent Story

Featured News